Skip to main content

Focus Mode / Time Worked data disappears if task time is edited

Hello,

After completing a task in Focus Mode, the task goes to the completed tasks section.

There, one has the option of pressing the allotted time value to bring up options to modify the value.

When doing so, the Time Worked duration resets to 0:00 and is lost.

Thus far, I haven’t found any way to recover the lost value.

Ted

Status: In Progress2 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments2

  • Luke M

    Team•

    May 6

    Thanks for the report Ted, and sorry for the confusion here.

    I’ll be honest: the “time worked” feature is something that was once worked properly, but broke somewhere along the way in development before I finished Focus Mode (which itself is insanely complex under the hood)—and I’ve been meaning to go back and test it and polish it up, but haven’t made the time. As it stands today, it’s really just a transient internal-bookkeeping value that, as you mentioned, isn’t persisted reliable or well. This limitation isn’t conveyed clearly at all, and that is on me, I apologize.

    I will revisit this in earnest over the next week or two, along with efforts to implement more ‘work tracking and statistics’ and such.

    In the meantime, thank you for the valuable feedback and patience.

    • Ted

      •

      May 7

      Hi Luke,

      Thanks for your quick feedback! Yes, it would be a nice feature to have to be able to see and assess how long tasks actually took versus their originally allotted time. For the time being, I think simply not touching the task and making a quick mental note of allotted versus actual time suffices. Maybe if the data can become more persistent, it can be included as an option in the Task Block Details, if one wants to scan past tasks on the calendar and see this allotted vs. actual comparison quickly on the task blocks.

      Thanks again! Ted